Big night for the Dallas Cowboys at NFL Honors 2023

(Photo by Tom Hauck/Getty Images)
(Photo by Tom Hauck/Getty Images) /

It was a big night for the Dallas Cowboys at Thursday night’s NFL Honors Event, the NFL’s annual awards show.

Multiple awards were won by Dallas Cowboys including Cowboy legend DeMarcus Ware,  QB Dak Prescott and others.

DeMarcus Ware, who played nine seasons with the Dallas Cowboys, was selected in recognition of his remarkable career, to the NFL Hall of Fame class of 2023. He was one of the most feared pass rushers in NFL history with 138.5 sacks in 12 seasons, second all-time among active players.

During his tenure with the Cowboys, he earned seven Pro Bowl selections and logged four All-Pro nods. A true leader on and off the field, DeMarcus Ware will go down in history as one of the greatest defensive players ever.

Ware also spent 3 seasons in Denver where he recorded 1.5 sacks in Super Bowl 50 to help the Broncos win their second Super Bowl in franchise history. He was part of a Broncos team that will go down as one of the best defenses in history.  In his career, he won first-team All-Pro four times, second-team All-Pro three times and was a nine-time Pro Bowler.

It is no surprise that DeMarcus Ware has been selected for this prestigious honor. He is one of only nine players in NFL history to record at least 100 sacks in their career, and his accolades serve as further testament to his incredible talent and commitment to the sport.

Prescott will wear a patch on his uniform for the rest of his career commemorating this honor.

Current Dallas Cowboys quarterback, Dak Prescott, also won an award. He was honored with the Walter Payton Man of the Year award. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award recognizes an NFL player for his excellence on and off the field.

The award was established in 1970. It was renamed in 1999 after Walter Payton, the late Chicago Bears Hall of Famer. Each team nominates one player who has had a significant positive impact on his community. Prescott will wear a patch on his uniform for the rest of his career commemorating this honor.

Two other great Cowboys were involved in the festivities. Chuck Howley, who played for Dallas from 1961-1973, was also elected to the Hall of Fame. Howley won a Super Bowl with the Cowboys in 1972 and won Super Bowl MVP in the Cowboys’ loss to the Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl V.

Next. If the Cowboys want a Super Bowl, money must be spent. dark

Darren Woodson was a finalist but did not get in. Woodson is the Dallas Cowboys all-time leader in tackles and won 3 Super Bowls with the team.