WATCH: Daron Bland Sets NFL Record With Pick-Six On Thanksgiving

DaRon Bland has set the NFL single-season record for interceptions returned for touchdowns. Check out the Thanksgiving Day play that made history.
Nov 19, 2023; Charlotte, North Carolina, USA; Dallas Cowboys cornerback DaRon Bland (26) celebrates
Nov 19, 2023; Charlotte, North Carolina, USA; Dallas Cowboys cornerback DaRon Bland (26) celebrates / Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports

The Dallas Cowboys feasted on Thanksgiving, earning yet another blowout win as they trounced the Washington Commanders. And while it was another impressive all-around team effort, one player made history.

DaRon Bland's fourth-quarter interception for a touchdown was his fifth of the season, which gives him the NFL single-season record, in just his 11th game of the year.

Check out the play that made history:

Five pick-sixes in 11 games is almost unfathomable. He has six interceptions on the season, already an impressive mark, and has run five of them back for touchdowns.

For some context on how ridiculous that is, the career NFL record for interception return touchdowns is only 12 (Rod Woodson). Bland is nearly halfway there in just 11 games, and if this pace kept up it would take only 23 games to break Woodson's career record.

It certainly helps that the Cowboys are getting into so many blowouts — forcing opposing quarterbacks to take risks in obvious passing situations. But Dallas is certainly not the first team to rack up a bunch of blowouts, and the way Bland has taken advantage has been truly incredible.

Bland leaves behind Eric Allen (Philadelphia Eagles, 1993), Jim Kearney (Kansas City Chiefs, 1972), and Ken Houston (Houston Oilers, 1971), who used to hold the record but who must now settle for a three-way tie for second place.

Bland still has plenty of work to do if he wants to get onto that list of the players the the most career pick-sixes in NFL history though:

  • Rod Woodson (12)
  • Charles Woodson (11)
  • Darren Sharper (11)
  • Aquib Talib (10)
  • Aeneas Williams (9)
  • Deion Sanders (9)
  • Ken Houston (9)
  • Janoris Jenkins (8)
  • Charles Tillman (8)
  • Ronde Barber (8)
  • Eric Allen (8)
  • Marcus Peters (7)
  • Malcolm Jenkins (7)
  • Jonathan Joseph (7)
  • Ed Reed (7)
  • Ty Law (7)
  • Otis Smith (7)
  • Lem Barney (7)
  • Herb Adderley (7)
  • Erich Barnes (7)

In other Cowboys news: